Showing posts with label Text Effects. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Text Effects. Show all posts

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Blast Text

Step.1.Create a 500x500 image in photoshop and make the background Black.

Photobucket
Step.2.Using the Type Tool, type a word in White. For the sake of this tutorial, I will use Impact at Size 60pt with the text "N-sane ART"

Step.3.Rasterize the layer ( Layer > Rasterize > Layer ) and name it "templight". Make sure layer "templight" is activated on the Layer Palette.

Step.4.Select All ( Select > All or Ctrl-A ).

Step.5.Cut and Paste the selection and name the new layer "Light". This makes the text perfectly centered.

Step.6.Delete layer "templight".


Step.7.Here comes the fun part! Activate layer "Light" on the Layer Palette and use the Polar Coordinates Filter ( Filter > Distort > Polar Coordinates ) and choose Polar to Rectangular

Step.8.This should create the distorted image you see to the left. Basically, Photoshop has just changed the image's coordinate system from a rectangular one (x,y) to a polar one (angle,distance).

Photobucket
Step.9.Use the Wind Filter ( Filter > Stylize > Wind ) and choose Wind for the method and From the right for the Direction. Press CTRL-F.

Photobucket
Step.10.Now you need to create wind that is going the opposite direction. Do the same thing as above except this time choose the option From the Left.

Step.11.Rotate your canvas to the right ( Image > Rotate Canvas > 90 CW )

Step.12.Use the Wind Filter ( Filter > Stylize > Wind ) and choose Wind for the method and From the right for the Direction. Press CTRL-F.

Photobucket
Step.13.Rotate your canvas to the left ( Image > Rotate Canvas > 90 CCW ) to return your image to the proper orientation.

Step.14.You are almost done! Use the Polar Coordinates Filter ( Filter -> Distort -> Polar Coordinates ) and choose Rectangular to Polar.

Photobucket
Step.15.Looks cool doesn't it? Now, Select the Text Tool and write the text you first started with. Color it a different color such as Black and move it over the white to create some contrast. You are done!

Photobucket
Step.16.One extra thing you can do is to add some color to your Light Blast Text. There are many ways to do this. Our favorite way is to use overlays.

Step.17.All you need to do is create a new layer above the blast layer, fill this new layer with whatever color you want, and change it's blending mode to "Overlay"

Step.20.In the image below, we filled the color layer with a radial gradient that went from red to blue.

Photobucket

CREDITS-GEEKY GRAPHICS and N-Sane

3D Text

Step.1.First create a new document. I created a 328x85px document and filled ( Edit > Fill ) the background with color Hex #4e4e4e.


Step.2.Using the Horizontal Type Tool, write some text. The text I created uses the font "Ariel Black" at a size of 72pt and with a color of white ( Hex #ffffff ).

Photobucket


Step.3.All this style of text needs in order for completion is a Layer Style. To create the layer style, open the Blending Options of the text layer. Do this by right clicking the layer on the Layer Palette and clicking on "Blending Options".

Over the next 5 steps, we will be adding 5 Blending Options: .

Photobucket

Step.4.First we will add the Inner Shadow. Click on the image to the left and use the values shown in your own Layer Styles window.

Step.5.We use the Inner Shadow to create the bottom edge of the tet. This makes the text look 3-dimensional by making the text look as if it is rotated slightly forward.

Photobucket

You cannot see the effects you apply until step 5 so do not worry.

Photobucket

Step.6.Now add an Outer Glow. Click on the image to the right and use the values shown in your own Layer Styles window.

Step.7.The Outer Glow is used in this case as a shadow.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Step.8.Add a Inner Glow. Click on the image to the left and use the values shown in your own Layer Styles window.

We use the Inner Glow to make the text look nice and bright in the end.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Step.9.Apply a Gradient Overlay. Click on the image to the right and use the values shown in your own Layer Styles window.

We add this Gradient Overlay as the color on the 3D text. We find making it a gradient from a color to it's complementary color looks nice.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Step.10.Finally, add a Satin. Click on the image to the left and use the values shown in your own Layer Styles window.

The Satin adds a nice texture/material to the text.

Photobucket
Step.11.Now you want to save this Layer Style so you can use it later whenever you want. Without closing your Blending Options, click on the "New Style..." button. Name your style "3D Text" and Click "OK".

Photobucket

You should now be able to click on the style in the Styles Window ( Window > Styles ) to apply it to any layer you want. It works best on text layers but it will also work for anything else!

CREDITS-GEEKY GRAPHICS and N-Sane